weather icon Mostly Cloudy

Movie awards showcase theater’s new features

Boulder City High School’s new theater has been christened as the sixth annual Boulder City Movie Awards program on March 22 was the first production held in it since it was completed earlier this month.

“It’s great to be able to have a production like this and a great learning opportunity for the kids,” said Amy Wagner, BCHS principal.

The awards program was the first event to utilize the new theater’s state-of-the-art lighting and sound systems. The facility also includes a 454-seat auditorium, dressing rooms, storage space for props as well as a loading dock.

The Boulder City Movie Awards honors the work of student filmmakers at BCHS and had a superhero theme this year. The sound, lighting, and video for the awards show was run by students. The program was hosted A.J. Pouch, who portrayed Batman, and Ryann Reese, who portrayed Wonder Woman. During the program they interacted with other students who portrayed characters such as the Flash, Riddler, Poison Ivy and Catwoman.

“It went really well, ” said Canaan Petersen, who teaches film studies at the high school. “They are still working out some kinks in the new theater, but the kids did a great job. … It’s a lot of fun for me to put this on.”

The new theater allowed Petersen and the students to incorporate special effects for this show, such as simulating flying by Superman.

“I have never simulated flight before in any show. … Having a new theater at my disposal was exciting and new, but daunting because of everything that was installed,” he said. “I did my best to incorporate new elements in lighting, audio and visual, but honestly, I barely scratched the surface of the totality of things that can be accomplished in the new facility.”

The 2018 Boulder City Movie Award winners were:

Best Screenplay: Emily Rinella for “Snow”

Best Cinematography: Jackson Tobler for “The Assassin”

Best Sound: Haley Jackson for “Reality”

Best Editing: Bryanna Daughtery for “Money Moves”

Best Effects: Asier Fernandez and Abbi Matthews for “The Odd Couple”

Best Direction: Sara Harvey for “Snow”

Best Music Video: “Flicker” by Sara Harvey, Ellie Ramsay, Baily Gossard

Best Actor: Mason Hood for “Snow”

Best Actress: Darleene Canedo for “Money Moves”

Best Picture: “Money Moves”

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Book ‘em: Library welcomes visitors

It’s National Library Week and its theme, “Welcome to Your Library,” hits home for the local community as the Boulder City Library recently reopened its facility to visitors.

King’s curriculum grows through garden program

King Elementary School is taking some of its lessons outside of the classroom thanks to a partnership with the Boulder City Community Gardens.

Elks aim to better community

For 75 years, members of Boulder City Elks, Lodge 1682, have been working to better the community.

Noisy air-conditioning unit shouldn’t be ignored

Many of us may have fired up our air conditioners for the first time this year this week. That cooled air reassures us that we’ll make it through another triple-digit summer. What’s troubling is if our air conditioner suddenly makes strange noises.

Overnight oatmeal packs power for pennies

When it comes to cheap eats it doesn’t get more frugal and fabulous than oatmeal. It’s a whole grain, packed with fiber and nutrients, the taste is compatible with endless variations and costs mere pennies per serving. Are you sold yet? How about this? You can literally make it while you sleep. Does that appeal to your inner multitasker? Yup. Mine, too.

Vegetables star in colorful tart

Spring has sprung and Easter is just around the corner. I was wandering the produce department and saw these beautiful multi-hued rainbow carrots. They reminded me of my favorite line from the Rankin/Bass Easter television special.

Traditional soup comforting year-round

Ah, matzo ball soup. The very words conjure soothing comfort to the soul. Rich savory chicken broth with tender pieces of chicken and pillowy, cloud-like dumplings made from matzo. Anytime I see it on the menu at a deli I order it, especially if I’m in need of revitalization. They don’t call it Jewish penicillin for nothing.

Nevada citizen a Revolutionary descendant

The National Sons of the American Revolution was formed in 1876 by John Austin Stevens, who envisioned a hereditary social group. In 1889, William Osborn McDowell formed a similar group and decided to expand it to be a mass movement of descendants of Revolutionary patriots as opposed to a more closed social club that Stevens had formed. Additionally, McDowell was instrumental in forming the National Society of Daughters of the American Revolution in 1890. A chapter of that organization thrives in Nevada.

Get saucy to hide vegetables from picky eaters

Even the most enthusiastic vegetable lovers can have a hard time getting that five a day. But when you have kids who act like you’re trying to poison them with peas, it’s even harder. That said, I’m not above suggesting you sneak veggies into your children’s food. Welcome to this episode of “Crouching Mother, Hidden Veggies.”