weather icon Clear

Early voting begins Saturday

Early voting for Clark County’s primary election starts Saturday, May 26, and will continue through Friday, June 8.

Boulder City residents can cast their votes locally at City Hall, 401 California Ave., from 7 a.m.-6 p.m. Tuesday, May 29, to Thursday, May 31. They, and all other registered voters, can also vote early at any other polling center in Clark County.

The primary election takes place Tuesday, June 12 and will select the Democratic, Republican and nonpartisan candidates who will run in the general election in November.

At this election, local residents will be able to vote on federal, state and county positions representing Boulder City.

For State Assembly District 23, Republican candidates Glen Leavitt and Matt McCarthy are running for the seat. For Clark County Commissioner District G, Republicans Cindy Lake and Fred Van Dover are running.

Sixteen people are running for U.S. Congressional District 3. The Democratic candidates are Richard “Rick” Hart, Susie Lee, John “Jack” Love, Guy Pinjuv, Steven Mitchell Schiffman, Eric Stoltz and Michael Weiss.

The Republican candidates are Patrick Carter, Eddie Hamilton, Scott Hammond, Stephanie Jones, Thomas Mark La Croix, David McKeon, Michelle Mortensen, Danny Tarkanian and Annette Teijeiro.

Additionally residents will be able to vote on other various state and county positions including the governor, secretary of state and attorney general.

Contact reporter Celia Shortt Goodyear at cgoodyear@bouldercityreview.com or at 702-586-9401. Follow her on Twitter @csgoodyear.

Not a pint-sized decision

Monday, the Boulder Dam Brewing Company posted something on Facebook that was unlike their normal posts about a new seasonal beer, upcoming band or their popular game nights. It was something they hoped they would never have to announce – their closure.

Turf reduction sees pushback

The second public meeting regarding the proposed reduction in turf at the Boulder City Municipal Golf Course was envisioned as the kind of input-lite that the first meeting back in April was. But the packed room at the Elaine K. Smith Building on Monday wasn’t having it.

Chamber event hosts members, special guest

When Boulder City Chamber of Commerce CEO Jill Rowland Lagan was introducing videos from those speaking on behalf of the chamber, few expected to see a former president doing so.

Dollar Tree closer to opening

If there was any doubt that the former 99 Cents Only Store in Boulder City would soon become a Dollar Tree, recently-placed signs should answer that question.

Public weighs in on proposed annexation of private land

For the last several months, Acting City Manager Michael Mays told the council that city staff has been working with the owners of a small plot of land in the Eldorado Valley who have requested annexation. In other words, they would like to be a part of Boulder City.

Salon owner has no plans to retire

Whether it’s been hairstyles to resemble Farrah Fawcett and Dorothy Hamill in the 1970s, Princess Diana or Madonna in the 1980s, Jennifer Aniston and Britney Spears of the 1990s to those hot styles of today, Jo Ann Beneda has seen them all.

Bobcat bake sale

Ron Eland/Boulder City Review

Lagan’s sights set on Paris

In less than three weeks, Lexi Lagan will be competing in her second Summer Olympic Games with a collective cheer of support from her hometown of Boulder City.

But is there really a shortage?

Getting Boulder City out of a more than decade-long stretch where no city manager has lasted as long as it takes a student to graduate from BCHS was the overriding theme of discussion at this week’s city council meeting.