53°F
weather icon Partly Cloudy

Letters to the editor, May 2

Help with service appreciated

I would like to take this chance to thank all those involved with the Boulder City Easter Sunrise Service 2019. It was such a joy to see all these wonderful folks gather to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus and glorify his holy name.

There were the committee members, cross installation team, sound, production, musical performers, readers and leaders, all of whom gather in the dark waiting for the Son to rise. Thanks also to Albertsons for donating doughnuts and Starbucks for donating coffee. Boulder City is blessed to have so many willing hearts and hands. Special thanks to the hundreds who rose early in the morning to hear the word of God and celebrate the miracle of Easter.

Also, please remember that Easter falls on a different day each year, and so the time of the sunrise is always different. We like to start our service about 15 minutes before the sun comes up. We post the time in many different places and online. Just be sure to look for the correct year.

Again, thank you all.

Kathy Whitman and the Boulder City Interfaith Lay Council

Contributions may cause conflict

On Aug. 28, 2018, the city approved Bill 1829, an amended and restated franchise agreement between the city and Waste Logistics Nevada to extend the agreement through the 2031; the contract was not up for renewal. The contract is for $1.5 million a year. The city did not get other bids.

Is it lawful to vote to extend a contract to 2031 when it is not up for renewal and accept contributions? If not unlawful, is it unethical or just not the right thing to do? The only nay vote was by Councilman (Kiernan) McManus. City minutes (from) Aug. 28, 2018, page 8, paragraph 3, City Attorney Morris states, “Furthermore, it was not a common practice to go out to bid for a franchise agreement; there was a specific exemption under state statute.”

What exemption? If you are running for a city office and voting on issues, should you recuse yourself from the vote or not take contributions. Is this a conflict of interest? I have no problem with the garbage service; it is great and I understand (Steven) Kalish’s reasons.

Contributions from four companies owned by Steven Kalish (Boulder City Disposal, Boulder Disposal, OBR1 LLC and Waste Logistics) as reported by secretary of state to the following candidates, past and present:

Edgar Richard Shuman (Rich): $3,000 (2/22/15); $3,000 (6/1/15); $2,000 (3/5/19); total to date reported $8,000.

Margaret R. Levitt (Peggy): $4,000 (1/12/15); $3,000 (2/19/19); total to date reported $7,000.

Rodney S. Woodbury (Rod): $4,000 (1/12/15); $3,000 (3/15/19); total to date reported $7,000.

Candidates have received $22,000 in contributions from 2015 to date and may receive more as the campaign continues but will not be reported until after the election.

Judith Hoskins

Political campaigns bring unwanted elements to area

I have been reading in the paper and hearing on the news a lot about the Clark County syphilis ranking. I think I have figured out why it is happening. It’s all the politicians coming to Las Vegas running for president. We cannot have all of them here without catching something.

Jack Johns

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
THE LATEST
Job guarantee would help millions

Do you get tired of all the suffering and dying we cause each other? I sure do. What do we do about it? Here’s what I do: read and learn. I read and learn how we can solve problems, not just talk, rant and rave on social media and share unfounded opinions with others.

Pets have special place in our hearts, lives

Over $95.7 billion — no, it’s not how much we spent on recent elections — it’s how much we Americans spend each year on our pets, our “fur babies,” our “four-footed friends,” “our cuddly companions,” our… well, you get the picture.

Trump doesn’t require reality to act

Is America finally able to understand the consciousness of Donald Trump based on his behavior? To assist, I am able to ascertain the consciousness of human beings according to Theosophical tradition.

Varying opinions vital to democracy

Periodically, I have to remind readers that the “articles” featured on this page are not news stories. They are opinion pieces.

Time to focus on truth

We are into the first week of a new year that brings new promises and continuing challenges. Of great promise are vaccines against the COVID-19 virus. The city has already received and administered hundreds of doses to health care workers and first responders. The progress that will be made depends on how many doses of the vaccine are available. The city paramedics and the hospital staff will work to provide the vaccine based on the priorities established at the state level. More information is available at www.southernnevadahealthdistrict.org.

Here’s to a better 2021

Today is the last day of 2020. I know I am not the only one who is eager to see this year end.

’Twas the baking before Christmas

A few years ago, many readers commented how much they enjoyed my column about holiday baking and requested that I make this an annual tradition. As you read this, I will be at home, enjoying the fruits of my labor after spending a week’s vacation knee-deep in flour, sugar and spices, in the true spirit of this message.

Public schools need to open

What do the library, post office, police department and public schools have in common? They are all owned by the citizens. All are open for business except, of course, schools. Schools in particular were built using funds collected from taxes that all of us paid. All of the expenses to run these institutions along with teacher’s salaries are paid by us as well.

Celebrate power to get things done

As I write this, a picture comes into my mind. It’s a Sunday in December, 22 years ago, when I wrote my first holiday piece for the Boulder City News and the Henderson Home News. It was the day after the Boulder City Christmas parade. It was 7 a.m.; I was sitting at my desk typing and a light snow was falling.