69°F
weather icon Clear

Letters to the editor, May 2

Help with service appreciated

I would like to take this chance to thank all those involved with the Boulder City Easter Sunrise Service 2019. It was such a joy to see all these wonderful folks gather to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus and glorify his holy name.

There were the committee members, cross installation team, sound, production, musical performers, readers and leaders, all of whom gather in the dark waiting for the Son to rise. Thanks also to Albertsons for donating doughnuts and Starbucks for donating coffee. Boulder City is blessed to have so many willing hearts and hands. Special thanks to the hundreds who rose early in the morning to hear the word of God and celebrate the miracle of Easter.

Also, please remember that Easter falls on a different day each year, and so the time of the sunrise is always different. We like to start our service about 15 minutes before the sun comes up. We post the time in many different places and online. Just be sure to look for the correct year.

Again, thank you all.

Kathy Whitman and the Boulder City Interfaith Lay Council

Contributions may cause conflict

On Aug. 28, 2018, the city approved Bill 1829, an amended and restated franchise agreement between the city and Waste Logistics Nevada to extend the agreement through the 2031; the contract was not up for renewal. The contract is for $1.5 million a year. The city did not get other bids.

Is it lawful to vote to extend a contract to 2031 when it is not up for renewal and accept contributions? If not unlawful, is it unethical or just not the right thing to do? The only nay vote was by Councilman (Kiernan) McManus. City minutes (from) Aug. 28, 2018, page 8, paragraph 3, City Attorney Morris states, “Furthermore, it was not a common practice to go out to bid for a franchise agreement; there was a specific exemption under state statute.”

What exemption? If you are running for a city office and voting on issues, should you recuse yourself from the vote or not take contributions. Is this a conflict of interest? I have no problem with the garbage service; it is great and I understand (Steven) Kalish’s reasons.

Contributions from four companies owned by Steven Kalish (Boulder City Disposal, Boulder Disposal, OBR1 LLC and Waste Logistics) as reported by secretary of state to the following candidates, past and present:

Edgar Richard Shuman (Rich): $3,000 (2/22/15); $3,000 (6/1/15); $2,000 (3/5/19); total to date reported $8,000.

Margaret R. Levitt (Peggy): $4,000 (1/12/15); $3,000 (2/19/19); total to date reported $7,000.

Rodney S. Woodbury (Rod): $4,000 (1/12/15); $3,000 (3/15/19); total to date reported $7,000.

Candidates have received $22,000 in contributions from 2015 to date and may receive more as the campaign continues but will not be reported until after the election.

Judith Hoskins

Political campaigns bring unwanted elements to area

I have been reading in the paper and hearing on the news a lot about the Clark County syphilis ranking. I think I have figured out why it is happening. It’s all the politicians coming to Las Vegas running for president. We cannot have all of them here without catching something.

Jack Johns

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
THE LATEST
What are you going to vote for?

I’m not asking “who” you are voting for. I’m asking “what” you voting for. When we cast our ballots this November, we won’t be casting our votes for an individual, even though it seems like it. We will be casting our votes for an ideal, a concept of democracy for our nation’s republic.

Congress has way to fix unemployment problems

Folks don’t like to face problems. They’re much easier to ignore. Everyone chooses. Face problems and find a solution or have them blow up in your face. Or, maybe you’ll get lucky and the problems vanish. Or, you carry them around and suffer the consequences day by day, usually for far too long.

New forum allows locals to share thoughts

Today we are introducing what we hope will become a regular feature in the Boulder City Review.

City needs ‘imperfect’ mayor who can see all sides

After only a few articles, demands of life are such that sadly, this will be my last article in the Boulder City Review. So I leave you with what I feel Boulder City needs.

Officers’ heroic actions merit recognition

Despite some who believe I should overdose on a lifetime supply of humble pie, I stand by my May 13 article wherein I claimed the coronavirus was being used by many to seize power. Merely observe those in power as they flaunt their own rules and change the threshold for restarting the economy.

Mayor does much to better Boulder City

Competent leadership of a family or another entity usually comes with weighty responsibilities and the absolute certainty that someone won’t be happy with some of the decisions made.

City needs new mayor now

There is an African proverb that translates to the familiar saying that it takes a village to raise a child. This literally means an entire community of people must interact with children for those children to experience and grow in a safe and healthy environment. What’s my point? Right now, city hall isn’t united and our village isn’t healthy.

Build bridges, not barriers

Books and movies are meant to entertain, and often educate us. In today’s world, as we spend more time at home, the need to be entertained and educated has never been greater.

Council acts follow city charter

The blaring headline, the denigrating letters to the editor, the smoke thrown into our already hazy skies. All these false efforts result in the editor of this newspaper calling for the end of chaos at City Hall. Dire statements are cast forward that any action by the current City Council to govern this city are not worth our while.

City wrong to mandate voluntary unit

City Council’s action Tuesday night to require the Boulder City Police Department to maintain a mounted unit is wrong.